Serial interface for EiBotBoard (EBB)

I received the WaterColorBot last December (that I had ordered from EMSL through Kickstarter) and have been having fun using it in RoboPaint.

As I read more about the EBB board being used to drive the two stepper motors and the servo I was surprised to find out that serial over USB seemed to currently be the only way to connect to the PIC18 board.  So I decided to see if I could supplement the serial USB with a direct 3.3v UART interface. This would allow direct control of the EBB projects from other micro-controllers without having to store the motions in the EBB firmware.

ebb

I am currently reading through the firmware I downloaded from the EggBot google code repository, and have also been able to download the toolchain and flash the board with a modified firmware following instructions from here. This is also my first foray into PIC18 programming. I will update next when I some something more substantial than just an intention (unlike this time).

One of the first things I did here was to figure out how to connect to the EBB board over usb emulated serial. I had to read through the source code for robotpaint-rt to figure out the baud rate.

~ > miniterm.py -p /dev/ttyS2 -b 38400
--- Miniterm on /dev/ttyS2: 38400,8,N,1 ---
--- Quit: Ctrl+] | Menu: Ctrl+T | Help: Ctrl+T followed by Ctrl+H ---
--- local echo active ---
v
EBBv13_and_above EB Firmware Meow Version 2.2.3

Note that the version string above says “Meow” because I updated the firmware on the EBB board when I was testing the instruction I got from Brian Schmalz.

Link to EBB command reference, but it somehow does not mention the “V” version command.

I have figured out how to configure a second serial port on the board (see photos below) but have not updated the firmware to use it for commands yet.

01a6bbc1e7fe5dd913f6aca458f4e0406ae7338ea7

2 thoughts on “Serial interface for EiBotBoard (EBB)

    • Yes. I managed to configure a serial port on headers but still have to look into how to update the software to use both USB and serial. I plan to work a bit on this over the next month or so.

Leave a Reply

